Michael DiBlasi ASTC


Michael is a partner and principal designer in the Minneapolis office and has been an integral part of Schuler Shook since its inception.

Michael began his career in technical theatre design, which is the basis for his theatre consulting work. His hands-on understanding of performance venue requirements, including technical, functional and aesthetic issues, provides an invaluable resource to the design of theatre facilities. His theatre consulting experience includes renovated and new performance spaces for professional, community and educational facilities.

Michael's involvement in the project begins with pre-design and programming studies that help shape the immediate and long range requirements for the facility. His involvement continues throughout the project as Michael collaborates with all members of the design team to develop the project's original vision into its successful completion.


  • BFA - Boston University


  • American Society of Theatre Consultants
  • International Association of Lighting Designers
  • Illuminating Engineering Society
  • United States Institute for Theatre Technology
  • League of Historic American Theatres - Former Board Member
  • International Association of Venue Managers
  • Society for College and University Planning


  • Kings Theatre
    • 2015 TITLE III ADA Sapolin Public Accommodation Award
    • Building Design + Construction 2015 Platinum Award for Reconstruction
  • Saenger Theatre
    • IES International Illumination Edwin F. Guth Memorial Award of Excellence , Indoor Lighting Design, 2014
  • Mayo Clinic Square

    • IES Illumination Design Award of Merit, 2016
  • Tradewinds Buffet Treasure Island Resort & Casino
    • IES Illumination Design Award of Merit, 2016
  • Target Field Station
    • IES Illumination Design Award of Merit, 2015
    • AIA National Honor Award for Regional & Urban Design, 2015
  • Radisson Blu Mall of America

    • IES Illumination Design Award of Merit, 2014
  • Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel
    • IES Illumination Design Award of Merit, 2014
  • Bigelow Chapel
    • SCUP/AIA-CAE Honor Award for Excellence in New Campus Architecture, 2006
    • SCUP/AIA-CAE Excellence in Campus Architecture Honor Award (national), 2006
    • Faith & Form Religious Architecture Honor Award, 2005
    • AIA Minnesota Honor Award, 2004
  • Minneapolis Convention Center
    • IALD Award of Merit, 2003
    • IES Illumination Design Award of Merit, 2002
  • St. Anthony Falls Office Building
    • LEED Gold
    • Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Historic Restoration Award, 2008
    • Preservation Alliance of Minnesota Adaptive Reuse Award, 2008
    • Preservation Alliance of Minnesota Award for Excellence in Sustainable Design, 2008
  • Midtown Exchange
    • Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Award, 2006
  • Pantages Theatre
    • USITT Merit Award, 2004
    • AIA Minnesota Honor Award, 2003
    • Minneapolis Heritage, 2003
  • Rainforest Café
    • IES International Illumination Design Award
    • IIDA Award
  • Cue Restaurant at the Guthrie

    • Edwin F. Guth Memorial Award of Excellence for Interior Lighting Design — International Illumination Design Awards, 2007
    • IES Twin Cities Illumination Design Award, 2007
  • Minnesota Judicial Center

    • IIDA Award of Merit, 1996
  • Landmark Plaza
    • AIA Minnesota Honor Award, 2002